Events Teams that have won the World Cup

Published on June 21st, 2018 | by Sarah Jubb

Teams That Have Won World Cup Glory

In case you hadn’t noticed, the FIFA World Cup is currently being contested in Russia. With it currently in full swing, we thought we’d have a classic #ThrowbackThursday and look at the lucky countries that have won the ultimate in footballing glory.

The very first World Cup occurred in 1930 and there have been 20 individual winners ever since. Despite this, there has only actually been eight countries that have taken the football trophy home, coming from only two continents.

Europe reigns supreme with the most number of wins overall, with 11 along with the most number of countries winning, with 5. South America is the only other continent to challenge, with 9 wins from 3 countries.

Brazil – A Footballing Great

When thinking of the greatest footballers in history, it is likely that a large number will be of Brazilian heritage. From Pelé to Ronaldinho to Ronaldo, Brazil has produced some of the biggest stars to grace a football pitch.

This has translated into their World Cup record, with them winning the tournament five times. Their last win was in 2002 and with current superstar Neymar in the team, they will be looking to bring it home for a sixth time.

Italy – A Passion For Footballing

The Italians have a long-documented passion for football with the team being beloved by fans across the country. Their nickname, Gil Azzurri, means ‘The Blues’ and comes from the azure shirts that they wear. The colour was traditionally linked to their royal dynasty.

With four World Cup wins, they occupy the joint second place with their last win occurring in 2006 in Germany. They unfortunately will not have a chance to increase their total, with Italy failing to qualify for the 2018 World Cup.

Germany – Footballing Efficiency

The current World Cup champions raised the trophy for the fourth time in Brazil in 2014. Considered a highly efficient nation when it comes to the technical prowess of football, they have also produced some important footballers from Franz Beckenbauer, (who remains the only man to win the World Cup as both a player and a manager!) to Lothar Mattäus to Gerd Müller.

A highlight of their recent World Cup attempts is their 7-1 defeat of Brazil in the last World Cup, something that they are likely to hope to repeat in their current efforts.

Uruguay – The Original Hosts

Uruguay holds the distinguished title of being both the first country to host the World Cup, and the first country to win it! All the way back in 1930, Uruguay beat Argentina 4-2 to take home the inaugural trophy.

Another historic win in 1950 over Brazil gave them their second win, and their last. Their current hopes are with star player Luis Suárez as they seek to take home the trophy for a third time.

Argentina – A Flair For Football

A widely renowned footballing nation, the hopes of Argentina currently rest on the shoulders of the current world’s greatest footballer, Lionel Messi. With two previous World Cup wins, they will be eager to bring home a third title and provide their best footballer with even more glory.

But their past is filled with important footballers as well, with the footballing legend Diego Maradona casting a large shadow, or should we say hand, over footballing history. Can 2018 be the year that both Messi and Argentina bring home the trophy once more?

England – The Home Of Footballing

Modern football began on the shores of England and their sole win in 1966 also came when England was hosting. Though there has been no glory since then, England has produced outstanding football players including Gary Lineker, David Beckham and Bobby Moore.

With a team currently filled with players from the Premier League, England’s hopes are resting firmly on a young team led by manager Gareth Southgate.


France – Celebrating Les Bleus

France’s sole World Cup win also came on their home turf, wining against Brazil at the Stade de France in Paris. Zinedine Zidane, considered one of the best French footballers, was named man of the match.

Other famous French footballers including Thierry Henry, who is still the all-time goalscorer for Arsenal along with being the record goalscorer for France.

Spain – The Innovators of Tiki-taka

Football is a national obsession in Spain, with FC Barcelona and Real Madrid being the second and third richest clubs in the world. They are also the innovators of the tiki-taka style of football, in which the ball is passed with short passing and movement to maintain possession.

Their sole World Cup win came in 2010 in South Africa when they beat the Netherlands. Another interesting fact is that they also won back-to-back European titles by taking home the Euro 2008 and Euro 2012 titles.


The Netherlands – The Unluckiest Team In The World Cup

We thought we’d take a quick look at the Netherlands as well. Though they have never won a World Cup, they hold the unfortunate title of being perhaps the unluckiest team to compete in the World Cup. The Flying Dutchmen have appeared in three World Cup finals, in 1974, 1978 and 2010, and unfortunately lost all three!

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Search the

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

    • +2020 (22)
    • +2019 (88)
    • +2018 (175)
    • +2017 (170)
    • +2016 (73)
    • +2015 (206)
    • +2014 (273)
    • +2013 (36)
  • Categories - Free Delivery on all orders over £30 ex. VAT - (excluding stamps and collectibles
Inks & Toners Collectibles
Postal Supplies Office Supplies
Special Offers Office Equipment
Facilities Supplies Brand Shops