Published on July 16th, 2014 | by Sally Wenham

Commonwealth Games – One Week To Go

The 23rd of July signals the start of the 2014 Commonwealth Games which are being held in Glasgow. To commemorate the 2014 games a fabulous range of collectible coins and stamps have been specially created. The Glasgow 2014 games are also the 20th edition of this quadrennial sporting event.

Over eleven days 6,500 athletes and officials from 70 countries, along with host nation Scotland will descend upon Glasgow to compete in 17 sports which encompass both skill and strength.

From the precise nature of lawn bowls through to the exciting combat of boxing and judo, from the intense speed of track events through to the grace and beauty of gymnastic events; the 2014 games has it all. Overall the 17 sports have 261 medals to contest, as each individual sport is divided into separate disciplines.

The first Commonwealth Games was held in 1930 and was hosted by Hamilton, Canada and was originally called the British Empire Games. The British Empire Games then continued until 1954 and were hosted by the cities of London in England, Sydney in Australia and Auckland in New Zealand. The 1942 games, which were set to be held in Montreal, and the 1946 games were cancelled due to World War 2.

In 1954, the games were renamed the British Empire and Commonwealth Games. The 1954 games were held in Vancouver, Canada. Further editions of this quadrennial event were held in Cardiff, Perth and Kingston. The 1970 and 1974 events were held in Edinburgh and Christchurch and were called the British Commonwealth Games.

From 1978 until the present day, the games have been called the Commonwealth Games as they are known today. The Commonwealth Games have been hosted in the following cities:

  • 1978: Edmonton, Canada
  • 1982: Brisbane, Australia
  • 1986: Edinburgh, Scotland
  • 1990: Auckland, New Zealand
  • 1994: Victoria, Canada
  • 1998: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • 2002: Manchester, England
  • 2006: Melbourne, Australia
  • 2010: Delhi, India
  • 2014: Glasgow, Scotland

Only six teams have entered every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. The most successful nation across the Commonwealth Games has been Australia, which has headed the medals table 12 times. England has lead the medals table six times and will looking to make that seven in Glasgow.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Search the

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

    • +2020 (21)
    • +2019 (88)
    • +2018 (175)
    • +2017 (170)
    • +2016 (73)
    • +2015 (206)
    • +2014 (273)
    • +2013 (36)
  • Categories - Free Delivery on all orders over £30 ex. VAT - (excluding stamps and collectibles
Inks & Toners Collectibles
Postal Supplies Office Supplies
Special Offers Office Equipment
Facilities Supplies Brand Shops